The Iberian Route

Home / Routes / The Iberian Route


The Iberian Route

The Iberian Route is a cultural tourism project coordinated by the Museu d’Arqueologia de Catalunya, which aims to introduce visitors to our country’s main Iberian sites and the peoples that inhabited them.

The consolidation of the Iberian culture, between the 4th and 1st centuries BC, presupposed the incorporation of our lands into the concert of historical Mediterranean civilisations and endowed us with an archaeological heritage as monumental as it is spectacular.

The Iberian territory was inhabitated by different tribes, whose names we know thanks to the texts of the ancient Greek and Roman writers. The Iberian Route includes 17 archaeological sites structured in 7 itineraries showing sites belonging to each on of theses people.

Iberian Tribes

Archaeological Sites

Ausetans El Casol de Puigcastellet (Folgueroles)
L’Esquerda (Roda de Ter)
El Turó de Montgròs (El Brull)
Cessetans La Ciutadella (Calafell)
Olèrdola (Olèrdola)
Ilercavons El Castellet de Banyoles (Tivissa)
Coll del Moro (Gandesa)
La Moleta del Remei (Alcanar)
Sant Miquel (Vinebre)
Ilergets La Fortalesa (Arbeca)
El Molí d’Espígol (Tornabous)
Indigets Castell (Palamós)
Puig de Castellet (Lloret de Mar)
Ullastret (Ullastret)
Lacetans El Cogulló (Sallent)
Laietans Ca n’Oliver (Cerdanyola del Vallès)
Puig Castellar (Santa Coloma de Gramenet)